Hi…Indonesian would say “Lama tak jumpa“, Japanese would say “Hisashiburi” and English speaker would say “Long time no see”🙂

Sorry for being away for more than a week. I actually have so much to write about my turtles but early school year is so hectic. I hardly had time to sit nicely and write something. I was always too tired to think. I am getting used to my routine now and finally have time to sit nicely and think.

I have been eager to share this since few months ago but I need more video and more observation to really come up with an issue.

Now, please look at this video first!

As you can see, Kroten always tries to bite Kurome whenever he comes near her. I sometimes gave her a light tap on her head and scolded her for her action…but she keeps on doing it😦

Lately, I often found Kurome hiding under the bed where Kroten couldn’t reach him. He stayed there until he heard my voice entering the room. He would walk up to me and seemed to ignore Kroten’s behaviour but when I was away, he hid under the bed or cupboard.

I really don’t know why she does that only to Kurome. She doesn’t care about Papoe. I know since the day I brought her home that she is one aggressive turtle….but I never thought she would show dominance like that😦

I have to find out why she acts like that as soon as possible.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

28 responses »

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Hmmm—that is very interesting!!! Wonder why just with Kurome and not Papoe. Turtle dominance thing or something??

  2. that’s sad. I would like to hear why she acts that way. Please keep me informed when you found out what’s wrong between Kroten and Kurome.

    • Novroz says:

      I will….but behaviour case on turtles like this is something new even for people who know so much about turtles (I have been asking people in redearslider.com)

  3. raisingdaisy says:

    Poor little Kurome! I never realized turtles who live together could be aggressive toward each other, especially since Kroten is only focused on Kurome and not little Papoe! I hope you do find out what’s going on and how to stop it. You’re such a good turtle mommy!

  4. Oh no! Poor little Kurome! I’ve heard that males being quite aggressive to females is quite common, but females tend to get bad tempered when they feel that they are being pestered by other turtles. In the video Kurome even went back to Kroten despite her being snappy towards him… maybe she is telling him to back off and go away? Although it seems Kurome has got the message if he is hiding!😦 Be careful that she doesn’t hurt him too bad, turtles can fight to the death if they’re being territorial😦

  5. Binky says:

    I suppose it could be a lot of things. Being male like you said, or being a different species (maybe one Kroten finds threatening). It’s good that Kurome has some places that he can hide and feel safe.

    • Novroz says:

      You know, I forgot to mention in this post (tho I have mentioned it when I bought Kurome) that Kurome’s tail has been bitten off. Maybe black turtles are the kind that other turtles don’t like.

  6. Bikramjit says:

    oh no .. yes find the reason and remove it .. dont want them fighting😦

  7. Alexis says:

    And as Thailand would say, Kap Khun Kha!

    Oh no! Poor Kurome…. It is a very good thing that no one shares a tank with Kroten ( no offense kroten <3), one second with your back turned, and someone tiny could lose a leg!
    Hope she goes back to sweet krone soon!

  8. Nekoneko says:

    Hmmm? If they were cats I’d say it might just be jealousy. Cats fixate on a person and when they think someone, cat or human even, is stealing away that person’s attention from them they can get very spiteful towards them. But I don’t know turtles enough to know if they feel similar things…. I do see that all your little ones are super attached and affectionate towards you so maybe that is what is happening. Each one wants to be your favorite.

    I can’t see that Kurome is doing anything else directly to Kroten that would provoke her so. You will definitely have to figure it out before big Kroten hurts Korome…😦

    • Novroz says:

      I suspect jealousy…but I also don’t know much about turtle’s feeling/behaviour. Kurome is easily attached to anyone, he keeps chasing me when he sees me but Papoe is still incredibly shy…so Kroten rarely sees me with Papoe but Kurome is always on my tail. I have a feeling she is a bit angry with Kurome…but I am not sure.

  9. Misaki says:

    Oh no, hope you figure out what the problem is

  10. Xeristh says:

    Let me share mine (If you forget my turtles, just look at your first post about sharing pets).
    Actually, when I just buy KogKog, Kicky keeps biting her too. But, I notice that her biting is because… KogKog smells like food to her. Kicky always sniffs her food before biting, and I know how she bite to fight. Of course I scold her like way you do. Now she never bite KogKog again, unless you put them together in one basking area. But still, KogKog scared of her.

  11. Alice Audrey says:

    Maybe Papoe isn’t big enough to be worth noticing yet.

  12. Kerry says:

    Question moved to Q&A Page

  13. gopika says:

    My turtles have the same problem.
    .they bite each other only on water… I haven’t seen them biting each other outside…
    You can lightly tap on kroten’s head and make him go away from kurome…I tried that with my turtles and they are biting each other less now…I hope.they become.e friends again..:)

    • Novroz says:

      If you look at the video carefully, I did tap Kroten’s head but it didn’t work. And as good parent (as good as I can be) all I can do is rotating their time to walk around…basically to avoid the biting

      • gopika says:

        Hmm I see…..some turtles just like to bully the others… My problem is not same….actually…. I have a basking box for my turtles…and for basking I keep them in the box and then in the sun….so if I keep Mackie first and then put Tito, Mackie gets afraid and hides in his shell and vice versa…like if I keep Tito first and then Mackie, Tito is afraid and hides in his shell… That’s what I think is weird

  14. […] have shared how Kroten doesn’t like Kurome (here) because she always wants to bite him and sometimes even chases him just to bite his tail. I have […]

Thank you for commenting :)

