I have mentioned it so many times here how each turtle behaves differently and become approachable in their own time. Kame was an instant love at first sight, both of us became comfortable in no time. Kroten needed one and half year to show no fear and 4 years to show affection and eagerness to be touched and lifted. Kurome only took less than six months to grow attached to me….Now, Papoe is the one taking longer time than all my turtles.

I have him for more than 2.5 years and yet he still runs away when I want to touch him…but as the old saying, good things come to those who wait.

He showed amazing improvement last week. I was soooooo happy. It was a great progress.

Look at how he hangs around near us and recognizes his own name … I am sooo sooo sooo happy. I am a proud turtlemom. I look forward to see how he behaves in the future

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 responses »

  1. It’s great to watch Papoe, think he knows that he can trust you :o) it was a touching moment as he climbed on your hand :o)

  2. Love the video. I didn’t know turtles could be so affectionate.

  3. Binky says:

    It is interesting that all of your turtles have developed and changed at their own pace. And it’s nice that Papoe is now finally coming around.

    (I’ve always called Papoe Pay-poe, with a long a, but you’re using a short a like in papa. I’ve had his pronunciation wrong all this time!)

    • Novroz says:

      Yeah it is interesting even for me. I didn’t know that turtles will have different personalities like that. I had/have four turtles so far and none has same personality, in some ways it really does feel like I have 4 human babies with different behaviours.

      Ah! I understand your wrong pronunciation, it’s a common mistake when dealing with different language

  4. Beth says:

    What an interesting video! They’re lucky to have someone so patient who lets them warm up at their own pace. Can’t wait to read more about Papoe’s progress!

  5. Lady Lilith says:

    They are so cute. A little time and he will join the others. He seems to have made great progress so far.

  6. He comes when you call! That is SO cute! And I had no idea a turtle would crawl up into a person’s lap for some lovin’. So, so cute!

  7. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Doh! For some reason the video wouldn’t play for me! Now that’s mischief, I was looking forward to seeing it!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

  8. Misaki says:

    that’s so sweet

  9. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    Oh, we are so glad to come see you sweeties again. The video was great we so enjoyed it. That was so cute when Papoe came to you and touched you. Love those little sweeties they are just sooooooo cute. Hugs and nose kisses

  10. Alice Audrey says:

    Until I started reading this blog I had never considered the possibility you could call a turtle and it would come.

  11. Alice Audrey says:

    I’m a little confused. I thought it was this blog you couldn’t put the link in for.

  12. Sakshi says:

    Hey, i am no turtle expert but got a new turtle recently… I like playing with my turtle a lot…It even sleeps in my hand….when i try to put my turtle in its tank, it always crawls back on my hand as if it is scared of water n just wants to b outside…my turtle remains active al day n sleep nicely but doesnt eat properly, can you advice me on it…

  13. Xeristh says:

    Hello Papoe! What are you doing?😀

Thank you for commenting :)

