A couple a day after I wrote My Poor Handsome Turtle, the stupid mother (read: me!) went to school in a hurry and didn’t attach the divider properly. I came home finding the divider slightly tilt. Papoe was still on his side and Kurome was on his basking on the other side. The gap was enough for Papoe to cross to Kuro’s side but I found him still in his side of the tank…however, Kuro’s tail gave me a shock!

There’s no skin on it! He was already healing and the old wound already dried….but that day (Monday, November 10) I found no skin on his tail.

DSC02366

DSC02365

DSC02364

I didn’t know (till this day) whether Papoe was the one biting his tail (because the divider was tilt) or Kuro himself scratch it off with his claws. Whichever it was, I couldn’t let that skin exposed like that without proper care. I immediately applied betadine but the skin was wet and the betadine quickly smeared off.

I was so worry and immediately texted my principal asking her whether I can leave school earlier to go to a doctor. She asked me what’s wrong and I told her it isn’t me, it’s my turtle, I had to take him to a vet. She was rather confused (not many people take their pets to the vet here…and I am used to such reaction whenever I took my babies to a vet) but she said yes.

I went home after I supervised my students on their final exam. I put Kuro on a bag with an old cloth in it.

Jpeg

First, I went to Rumah Sakit Hewan Ragunan (Raguna’s Hospital for Animals). I went there because that’s where I took Kame in 2010. I only know that place and the Vet was good. I registered Kuro and waited to be called. About 10 minutes later I was called and told that the Vet who specialized on turtle was not at the hospital, I could come back again tomorrow. Can other doctor help him? I asked, he said no. I was heartbroken and he told to try another place near the hospital.

Waiting room at Rumah Sakit Hewan Ragunan

Waiting room at Rumah Sakit Hewan Ragunan

Fortunately Ragunan is where Jakarta’s zoo is located, so we can find more than one vet. I walked to a place called Pengayom Hewan (not sure how to translate pengayom, but hewan means animal) about 200 meters from the hospital and they told me they can’t help a turtle.

I AM SO ANNOYED!!! Why is it so difficult for them to help a turtle? Pets are not only Cats and Dogs, you know!!!

Then I remembered a place near the main road. I didn’t know whether it’s a hospital or what but it has hewan written on it. I walked another 200 meters and found the place. I had to asked the security whether that place has vets or not. And the security told me a lot. That place is actually a Puskeswan (Centre for animal’s helth), it’s a government institution and the doctors are specialized on any animals including reptiles and fishes.

Waiting room at Puskeswan

Waiting room at Puskeswan

We waited for 5 minutes and the vet came. No registration needed…just like Puskesmas (centre for people’s health) near my dorm.

I like the vet, he seems like he really cares with the animal. He looked at Kuro, hold him gently and asked what had happened. When he put Kuro on the scale and Kuro tried to run, he even said don’t run dear. So I know he cares🙂

Kuro weight only about 200 gram so it was impossible to give him any shot. He was too light. The vet went for a while to take something. I took a picture of the room while he was away.

Jpeg

He came back and sprayed Kuro’s tail with purple liquid. He said it’s an antibiotic. Let it dry and hope Kuro’s wound wouldn’t get infected.

Jpeg

He also gave me an ointment which contain chloramphenicol, I know what it was ( I studied it at college). It’s an antibiotic to prevent infection and inflammation. He also told me to soak his tail in Potassium permanganate (fortunately I have one in my laboratory). He said to wait for three days, if the wound still wet then we will find a way to inject him with medicine.

So…since Tuesday (November 11), Kuro has been spending most of his time outside the tank. In order for his tail to dry, I have to keep him away from the water. I put him in the tank for 30 minutes to have his meal and have a swimming time. Then I take him out. I only put his head inside the water once in few hours so that he will  not get dehydrated.

I soak his tail several time a day and then apply the ointment.

Kuro's medicine

Kuro’s medicine

Today is Saturday and I am so happy he is doing well. his wound has dried (thank God, Kurome doesn’t have to get any injection)

On Friday

On Friday Morning

This morning

This morning

I am still going to keep him away from water as much as possible to avoid bacteria from the water. However, today I am going home so he will spend more than 24 hours in the water…I have to do that because it’s impossible to keep him on the loose unsupervised for that long. But he won’t be in the same tank with Papoe, I’ll be using a third tank (not permanent)  which I use to keep my clothes before being ironed.

Hopefully my handsome turtle can get his black skin back soon.

Jpeg

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

25 responses »

  1. Dear Kurome, I wish you a fast recovery and I hope the ointment and the antibiotic help you to get well soon. I thought it would be easier in your country to find a vet who can treat turtles. We have that problem here too, we have to drive to a vet for exotic animals when we need something for Hell-mut. (and Hell-mut is a dalmatian turtoise, I’m sure Dalmatia is still in europe :o((( )

    • Kurome says:

      Thank you Easy🙂
      I am quite well now. Mommy left me in the water for a day and my wound is still dry even after being in the tank that long. But to be sure, she will continue putting me off the water as much as possible till my black skin returns.

      I hope there are more vets for reptile. Say hi to Hell-mutt from me🙂

  2. KDKH says:

    I’m so glad you were finally able to find a veterinarian! Turtles need care, too! I’m so glad you persevered. Get well soon Kurome!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Karel🙂
      I know, but I can also understand why it’s so hard to find one for reptile…there aren’t many people who care for them as much as people who own dogs or cats. Even my colleagues wonder about me taking Kuro to the vet.

  3. Nekoneko says:

    You are lucky Novia to be in Jakarta… such a big city would be the easiest place to find a vet for unusual pets. We live in a rural area where I am… although we have colleges nearby that make us seem bigger…and I don’t think we could find such an expert here. Cats and dogs and all sorts of farm animals, but certainly nothing for a pet so exotic.

    I am glad you found a caring professional to help. When my lil’ kitty Ting-ting is sick it worries me as much as when either Carolyn or I are ill, so I know how you feel.🙂

    My biggest wishes that Kurome’s tail heals well and that you can resolve his problems with Papoe and Kroten. It would be terrible if they couldn’t stay together anymore without you around.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Miyuki. Yeah for that I am blessed, one of the reasons why I don’t want to live outside Jakarta.

      He has been doing well, healing and still as cheerful as always🙂
      So far, Kuro hides away when Kroten is outside, he only comes out when I am around. Papoe still so shy so he is not a threat when he is outside the tank,

  4. Whee are wishing you a speedy recovery Kurome!

    xxxx

  5. Mary Inman says:

    I am SO glad to know that Kurome is doing better!🙂 I’ve been praying for him! His poor little tail.😦 I don’t understand why the vet couldn’t give him a shot or pain meds for the pain he must be in. My little boy box turtle, Gertrudeman, was anesthetized for his surgery by injection when he had a cloacal prolapse that needed fixing that caused him to have a little antenna tail by how he had to be stitched up. He was also given oral pain meds and antibiotics to take for a week or 2 afterwards. He doesn’t weigh much either. I can’t remember his exact weight, but it is on his vet paperwork. He can sit in the hand. This vet was specially trained in exotics though. I don’t know if yours was and just did care that would be done for any animal with a problem like that. I’m so glad it’s working! I just worry about the pain he’s in from his tail.😦 Poor little guy! I will keep praying for him to mend well!🙂 My Gertrudeman is upset with me and sulking right now. He wants a wormie and I have none. He won’t let me hold him, sit next to me, or even close to me at all. He’s on the other side of the bed showing his disdain over it. I told him I would if I could but I am too sick and weak to go get any, no one will help us, and I need to go to the hospital. I keep putting it off because I don’t want to leave my 3 little babies all alone. I will keep praying for Kurome to mend completely!🙂

    • Novroz says:

      I agree with the doctor tho…Kuro is too small and if it can be fixed without injection, it’s better be like that. And he was right, Kuro is healthy and doing well with his recovery. His tail is all dried now but I am still goind to keep him away from water for the another week….just to make sure.

      I hope you get well soon and do go to the hospital, I am sure they will be fine.

      • Mary Inman says:

        Thank you Novroz! I just worry about my babies because they will probably admit me to the hospital because of how sick I am and I have no one who will check on them. They are used to me being here and rarely ever leaving because I am disabled.

        The next time you are on IG, you can go look at pics of my babies. LacyLavender1.

        I didn’t know if the vet was trained in Exotics. They weighed Gertrudeman before giving him the proper amount of anesthetic injection and for his after care meds. He didn’t like taking his oral meds too much. I told him it would make him feel better and get well quicker.🙂

        There’s a vet here in the small town where I live that said he’d take care of my turtles, but he doesn’t specialize in exotics at all and I didn’t feel too comfortable about the way he took care of my cat’s death. She was in so much pain and 19&½ yrs and I had to have her put to sleep. She would cry “Mama” when she was in pain. She stopped grooming, barely ate at all, and I knew it was time. He didn’t hit her vein on the first try and she had a real hard time. I wanted to be with her so she didn’t go alone and it was heartbreaking to see.

        I’m just glad I found their old vet who specializes in exotics, and especially reptiles. He takes care of the zoo animals in the city where I’m from, which the city limits are just a few miles from here. The vet office is there on the outskirts of the city, but they don’t charge for traveling the few extra miles to this town for a house call. They just charge like it was an office visit. He left the old vet office where he was after the owner died, they wouldn’t tell me where he was at, and they knew too. They wanted me to pay their high prices, so they wouldn’t tell me! I found out where he was at from the turtle rehabber in the area. He’s knows more about turtles than any other exotic animal or exotic vet in this area. I’m glad he does house calls! It makes it even better for all of us!🙂

        I will still keep Kurome in my prayers for him to continue healing well!🙂 It makes me sad to see any little animals hurt, but most especially a loved pet because a Mama or Daddy is worrying!

      • Novroz says:

        I will🙂
        I rarely checked my IG timeline because I only see the first 20 something pic when I open mine…but I will look at your babies when I am on IG again.

        Yeah, losing a pet is never easy.

        Thank you…he has been doing great🙂

  6. Misaki says:

    So pleased you finally found a good vet to see Kuro. hope his tail is better very soon xx

  7. Alexis says:

    Huh, can’t have a shot? That’s strange. Angel got a couple of antibiotic shots ( thank god I didn’t have to be there ) and she is about the same size as Kurome and younger ( i don’t know the exact age so I just pretend and estimate she is 1 yr 7 months ) than Kurome. I guess she is a skinny but heavy turtle. And Kurome is a light turtle? Glad that he isn’t bleeding or anything , Buddy once got a big bloody gash on the top of his head in between his eyes. We put ointment in it and now he has a tiny black scar.

    • Novroz says:

      That’s not strange…well, at least for me because, if it can still be cured without injection then it better be that way. Injection is painful for them, I saw it when Kame was injected due to bacteria in her intestine.

      He didn’t bleed at all, it was just a slightly wet wound. I think Kuro will also has mark on his tail forever…hopefully not but I have a feeling he will.

  8. Binky says:

    Poor Kurome! At least you found a good vet who knew what to do. And it looks as if Kurome is healing nicely. Hopefully the skin will grow back soon and you won’t have to worry about him anymore.

    • Novroz says:

      So far, he has been spending more time in water and his wound still hasn’t developed any white fungus…it still looks normal. I think that’s a good sign🙂

  9. Xeristh says:

    Hellooo! Long time not here. I just had a problem with wordpress, unable to comment😦, but already fixed.

    One of my RES turtle used to bite my Ambon turtle too. I have to separate them. Luckly, my RES bite the hard shell, so my Ambon turtle didn’t get serious injury, only a little bit flaw on the shell. I scolded my RES, and somewhat she understood, never bite again unless they were together in same basking area.

    By now, you must be searate them too. Perhaps it is because different species make them fight.

  10. […] of all, if you are wondering how’s my tail (previous post). I am now grounded. My tail was dried and then I peeled it off with my own claw. Yup!! […]

  11. Buddy says:

    Hi! Hey Kurome, as a turtle “brother” is like to say your tail looks really cool! Did it hurt? Even tho it looks cool, I hope it gets better soon! *turtle high five*

  12. Alice Audrey says:

    I think you should build a rack so you can have a third tank so it doesn’t happen again.

    It might have been a hard day, but you found another resource. In the end, it’s a good thing.

    • Novroz says:

      I can’t have a rack😦
      I live with a roommate so I have to consider her feeling two, three tanks (tho in rack) is too much in a 3.5×4 meter room.

  13. […] my tail incident last year? If you have forgotten it, you can read it again here> Update on Kurome: The Vet and Healing Up. If you don’t have time to read it, here’s how my tail looked like at that […]

Thank you for commenting :)

