I clean my turtle’s tank once a month, sometimes it became so dirty before a month, sometimes it was still not dirty even after a month. No matter how often I clean the filter, eventually the water still becomes dirty.

Last month when I was cleaning the tank, I noticed that Kroten’s basking area needed an updated…well not the whole basking area, only the ramp.

Here’s her basking area:
DSC02399

The ramp had whitish thing on it. I suspected it was fungus…but I couldn’t be sure about it. The only thing I knew for sure was that I need to replace it.

DSC02404

The platform for the ramp was also not nice anymore. I cleaned it every month but I thought changing it was also a good thing.

DSC02406

I also cut the area connected to the ramp because the whitish thing was also there.

DSC02407

Fortunately, I still had impraboard. I used half of it as the divider for Kurome and Papoe’s tank (here)

DSC02409

I sewed the board. It was easier just to glue it but I prefer sewing it because obviously thread is not poisonous like glue.

DSC02410

The result looked like this:

DSC02411

I attached it to the basking area

DSC02413

There wasn’t enough impraboard so I decided to attached the floor-mat straight away to the ramp without using any platform.

DSC02417

DSC02418

I think she likes it😉

DSC02419

She said, “That’s enough Mommy!! I want to sleep now. Stop taking picture!

DSC02420

She said, “Why are you still taking picture?

DSC02421

Hopefully the the whitish thing won’t come again🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

21 responses »

  1. Bikramjit says:

    That surly looks good…

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Bik🙂
      I am thinking of renewing the whole basking, blue looks great than yellow and brown…but I don’t want to add more plastic to the earth. So I have to wait till the basking area truly can’t be used

  2. I hope the whitish thingy is history and Kroten enjoys the new ramp. do they notice the change of colors or materials of their habitat?

    • Novroz says:

      I hope so too Easy.
      I know they noticed colour as they can differentiate the color of tasty banana to other colors. The floor-mat is still the same so I think she doesn’t notice the new colour of her ramp

  3. Deboshree says:

    You take such good care of the little ones. Way to go.🙂

  4. Mugun says:

    Kroten’s mom, i am hanif, i like you since find kame kroten’s blog last sunday.. Hehe, i know i am too late, but all of your post its impressed me,, i try to follow tips” about turtles treatment for my son (mugun), i hope mugun always alive for long time, because i think he is sick now because he avoid his food that i givemm.. (well, i dont know mugun male or female,but i hope male) give my sweet love for kurome, papoe and kroten

  5. Nekoneko says:

    That white stuff looks like some kind of icky slime mold. I bet Kroten is glad for it to be gone.Thank goodness mommy is so good at “arts & crafts”!😉

  6. Binky says:

    That turned out pretty good! That corrugated plastic material is pretty versatile. Maybe Kurome could get a little castle or something.

  7. Gray Dawster says:

    This is a brilliant posting
    and my favourite picture
    is right at the end🙂

    Just look at that cheeky smile🙂

    Andro xxx

  8. Alexis says:

    I glad she is happy on her basking area. Speaking of happy, today is my one year aniversary on my blog! I am so happy. Novroz you have given me so much inspiration. I capuldnt have done this without you :3

Thank you for commenting :)

