Hello Friends🙂

It’s been a while since I wrote a post. Mommy is currently on holiday so she stays at her brother’s house HOWEVER since we are always on her mind, she comes every three days to her dorm to check on us and to play with us🙂

If there are other peoples in the dorm, she would stay for a night (she won’t stay if no one is in the dorm, she says the dorm is too spooky). Last night she stayed with us… yeaaa \(^_^)/ I slept with her last night and after writing this we will go to the park to enjoy the sunlight🙂

I am here to share part of our series post (or is it post series??) called Our Differences. We, turtles, have different Plastron pattern…even the same species have different patterns (with some similarity). Note: All borrowed pictures are smaller than ours so that you have to click on the image to see the original pictures😉

Let’s begin with my plastron😉

DSC05273

DSC05274

As you can see, I have NO PATTERN. My plastron is patternless. It’s slightly pinkish but becomes paler as I grow up.

My cousins, the Emydura sublogosa (Red Belly Sideneck Turtle) has a better pattern…that’s why they are more famous than me😉

Borowed from turtleworld.fr

Borrowed from turtleworld.fr

Next, we moved to the only male in our family, Kurome.

DSC05271

 DSC05272

As you can see…Kurome also has patternless plastron…ALL BLACK. Well, it’s because he is a melanistic reeves turtle…in other word a special turtle, even his eyes are all black.

Normal Reeves turtle or Chinemys Reevesii are like this:

6020827736_ee652a7d2e_b

Borrowed from aristurtle1

Next is our big sis, Kroten. She is a red eared slider…therefore she is the only one with pattern on her plastron.

 DSC05275DSC05276

Our big sis is currently under fungus treatment. She has terrible under the scutes fungus so mommy can’t treat her till she sheds her scutes (she said she will talk about it soon)

Our late sister, Kame, tho the same species as Kroten has similar but different pattern. On the left was before she shed her scutes while on the right was after she shed her scutes

 Since I am going to share this post in 13 Thursday, so I am going to share the wonder of plastron pattern…of course all will be borrowed from other sites😉

I have shared 6 kind of pattern above, here are the other 7 patterns:

Mommy’s favorite pattern is from Western Painted Turtle. She thinks it’s like a painting

Borrowed

Borrowed from bcreptiles.ca

Here’s from A Diamondback Turtle (taken from our old post Herptile Spotlight #5: Diamondback Turtle)

Here’s from Ornate Box Turtle

Borrowed from

Borrowed from angelfire.com

Here’s from a Spiny Turtle (Heosemys spinosa)

Here’s another of my cousins, Eastern Snake-necked Turtle…or sometimes called long-neck turtle as I am short-neck turtle.

Let’s see our other branch of family…the tortoise. Here’s from an Indian Star Tortoise. Mommy really wants to have this one but she has no space to keep a tortoise right now.

Borrowed from startortoise.net

Borrowed from startortoise.net

And last but not least another of our branch of family, the sea turtle. Here’s from a Green Sea Turtle…he’s patternless like me😉

Borrowed from nmlc.org

Borrowed from nmlc.org

Hope this post lets you know more about us🙂

Happy Wordless Wednesday and 13 Thursday 🙂

 

About Papoe

Hi...I am named Papoe (read: pa-poo) because my origin is from Papua New guinea :) I am a Pink belly short Necked Turtle. Mommy adopted me on March 11, 2012. I am struggling with my body size...maybe I am a midget

38 responses »

  1. Indrani says:

    Whoa! Those are some amazing patterns I have ever seen! Great pics!
    Happy WW!

  2. Alice Audrey says:

    I like the look of the spiny sea turtle, though I’m not so sure about touching it.

  3. PippaD says:

    I never knew there were so many differences in the patterns.

  4. roth0003 says:

    Such variety – it’s interesting for me to realize how much the undersides of these guys vary. Thanks for sharing at http://image-in-ing.blogspot.com/2015/06/the-other-worldly-insect-world.html

  5. that was interesting to read more about our friends who wear a helmet… we would like to find a friend for Hell-mut, but tortoises are super rare here and very, very expensive… but we hope once we will find a tortoise-girl for him :o)

    • Novroz says:

      Tortoise is also very expensive here😦
      I would love to have a pair of them but the price is so high and I still have no place to take care of them.

      Good luck finding Hell-mutt a girl🙂

  6. Great pictures and beautiful post! I love the patterns on the turtles.

  7. Robin says:

    Thank you for showing me all of these photos! It is amazing how many different colors and patterns there are. All of you are beautiful. Where I live snapping turtles are most common. They are quite large and they often try to cross the road.

  8. How rude of your uncle. Has he thought of inviting you to come over?

  9. Binky says:

    Does Kurome really have no pattern, or is it just very dark, like a black panther’s spots that you can’t normally see?

  10. Ron. says:

    Plastronomically interesting. Thanks.

  11. Thanks for showing us the plastron patterns. I enjoyed learning something new but my favorite part of the post were the pictures. Your little guys look so happy, tummy up, in your hand.

    http://otherworlddiner.blogspot.com/2015/06/hooray-for-summer-thirteen-quotes-to.html

  12. CountryDew says:

    Some of those are quite lovely. I always thought you weren’t supposed to turn over a turtle, for some reason. We have them in Virginia, USA, but generally leave them alone. We have snapping turtles that sometimes are so huge they can take a man’s finger off.

    • Novroz says:

      It’s okay to turn them over BUT not for long. It only took less than 10 second to take those pictures.

      Yes I know, snapping turtles can grow so big. Some people own them here but for me that’s one turtle I don’t want to own, I still like the cute ones who eat vegetables than other animals.

  13. w0rdtrix says:

    That second photo is too cute! My T13

  14. Cathy Armato says:

    I think your plastron is beautifully patternless. You also have the most adorable face!
    Love & Biscuits,
    Dogs Luv Us and We Luv Them

  15. raisingdaisy says:

    Wow those are some really interesting and beautiful patterns! Great post! We hope Mommy enjoys her holiday.🙂

  16. This is a great post! I found you via Wordless Wednesday, and I am also an herpetology enthusiast. (Amateur!) I actually just shared a photo of what I think is a yellow bellied slider on my blog – I found him at a freshwater spring and was pretty interested to see that he had blue eyes. Do you happen to know if that is a common occurrence or not? I’ve never seen one like that before!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Kelly🙂
      I never have yellow belly so I don’t know much about it. I saw your post…wow the blue eyes are stunning, would love to have one of those

  17. Misaki says:

    who knew there were so many different patterns

  18. xeristh says:

    It’s been long time since I saw Papoe. She’s been changing a lot!

Thank you for commenting :)

