Kroten has always had problems with her shell. When I brought her home, she had some spots showing shell rot. As she grows up, she started having fungus which I finally able to get rid off ( Tending my fungus )…but this annoying fungus somehow came back with a vengeance, it came back UNDER Kroten’s scutes, how I am going to cure that?

A very helpful post at redearslider.com under the title History of Curing a Turtle’s Shell gave me hope of curing Kroten’s shell. But even so, I will have to wait for her to shed all her retaining scutes. She has been doing really well lately and more scutes are loosing now🙂

Here are pictures to show the progress of Kroten’s shell:

You can see in these two pics how fungus had infected Kroten’s shell and it lies under her retaining scutes.

DSC04989

DSC04930

She has been shedding quite well lately.

DSC04922

The new shell underneath looks great BUT if you look closer there is still fungus on her new shell…one that I need to get rid off as soon as possible.

DSC04926

DSC04923

Here’s a look of her scute, you can see the white fungus under the scute.

DSC04925

You can see lighter color on Kroten’s new shell.

DSC04991

HOWEVER, not all of them are looking great as the fungus has infected her scutes too much.

DSC04929

DSC04992

DSC04993

I am currently continue fighting that awful fungus by letting Kroten has her sunbath whenever I come home to my dorm and put silver sulfadiazine ointment on her shell.

I can see that she is getting better each week and she only has 9 scutes left to shed. Hoping to get rid the whole fungus before 2015 ends…wish us luck🙂

DSC04994

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 responses »

  1. Kroten I send POTP and hugs to you… hope that fungus goes away soon….

  2. purofusoni says:

    Hi, I hope your kroten will get better soon. My turtle got it years ago, and I couldn’t cure it, so I gave up. But after reading your article, I’m interested in your medication. I read on the Internet that silver sulfadiazine was an ingredient. Since we are living in the same country, can I know the medication brand name, so I can buy it on the nearest drug store. Thanks a lot.
    Regards,
    Sonny

    • Novroz says:

      Hi sonny🙂

      You can find silver sulfadiazine in a product called Burnazin, you have to buy it in apotik. apply it and dry dock the turtle. I remove the ointment in the morning by scribing Kroten with a bit of toothpaste. i used toothpaste because I think it’s the most save thing to use as a cleaner. I don’t want the ointment to end up poisoning her so I make sure it’s really clean before putting her back to her tank

  3. Aw poor girl. Hope it clears up! I remember we treated a turtle once with fungus. It took SO long, because turtles just heal slowly. But she always came in for her fungus treatments and took her prescriptions at home.

  4. Rhonda Albom says:

    I was enjoying the shells until I saw that fantastic turtle head photo.

  5. image-in-ing says:

    The shells have such intricate designs. Isn’t our Creator’s artistry amazing?
    Thank you for sharing at http://image-in-ing.blogspot.com/2015/06/falling-water.html

  6. Misaki says:

    looks like you have the fungus on the run!

  7. Robin says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Kroten is having to deal with this fungus. That would be a tough problem to fix! I’m glad to see that Kroten’s shell is beginning to look better and shed the infected parts. I’ll be praying for her!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Robin🙂

      I hope this time the fungus never return again. Poor baby has been dealing with shell problem her whole life😦

  8. Binky says:

    I certainly hope your treatment works. Could the fungus be growing on parts of her container, too? Get better, Kroten!

    • Novroz says:

      Fortunately no.
      I have some algae problem but it clears out every time I clean her tank.

      I hope so too. She deserves to have healthy shell.

  9. I hope she will be OK and get rid of that nasty fungus!

  10. Alice Audrey says:

    That must be very hard for her and a lot of work for you,

  11. TheTurtleGirl says:

    Thats fungus?! my turtle had that but it went away I thought it was shed or something (I’m 11) I’m just glad its gone

Thank you for commenting :)

