This happened a week before the holiday started but I had no time to write about this till today. It’s going to be a story with lots of pictures…so I divided it into two parts.

I have been taking them to the school’s park every Saturday (every Wednesday and Saturday during the holiday as those were the times when I visited my dorm). Usually, there’s nothing much happen but that day…something different happened😉

This is how the park look like:

little Jungle

As Always, I set my three baby turtles TOGETHER in one spot.

DSC04895

…and as usual, my two little ones began to walk toward different locations leaving Kroten all alone enjoying the sun. I guess Papoe and Kurome enjoy walking more than the warmth of sunlight.

DSC04896

THEN!!! Something lurked behind the bushes. A little feral kitty

DSC04891

I think she didn’t like me taking her picture😉

DSC04892

The place where she hid is the place that Kurome often visited. It worried me to have him wondered near the cat.

DSC04894

The cat started moving out of the bushes.

DSC04900

And getting closer to where my babies were.

DSC04903

She was looking at them curiously.

DSC04915

I love cats…BUT I love my babies even more, so I had to do extra supervision to make sure that all my babies were safe.

However, I did enjoy the curious look on that cat. I bet she never saw a turtle before.

An eye to eye contact with Kroten.

DSC04916

She finally sat down as she couldn’t get nearer to Kroten….but only for a while, she stood up again not long after that.

DSC04918

Look at Kroten’s face, it’s as if she was saying “Mommy, the cat is still there!!

DSC04919

She was also looking at my speedy turtle, Kurome.

DSC04932

I worried more for my little ones than for Kroten as Kroten is already quite big. The little ones were an easier target for the cat. I made a simple barricade for my active babies using my legs.

DSC04937

BUT!!! They were always trying to get out. I put them back in the middle and they stride to get out again #sigh

DSC04938

They even competed to get out first😉

DSC04939

Eventually, the cat left the scene. I think she got bored looking at the turtles with their silly mommy sitting on the ground watching them.

DSC04940

The cat never visit us again…I hope she is okay and live healthily.

The cat was half of the adventure…next, we will follow my two little explorers😉

I know it’s not a wordless post…BUT it has quite a lot of photos so I am still sharing this in Wordless Wednesday😉

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

30 responses »

  1. that was a clever “barricade” that you made! I don’t think the cat would have hurt your little ones, it was probably more curious than anything else, but it never hurts to be sure. I think your solution was a good one!

    Your babies are so cute!!! I am hoping that that kitty had food and all though😦

    • Novroz says:

      I also think so, the cat was more curious than anything…but better safe than sorry😉

      There are a lot of houses here, so I am quite sure she will have food from those houses

  2. image-in-ing says:

    This will sound silly, but I have no idea about the intelligence of turtles. I haven’t been given the impression that they’re all that smart. Do they seem to recognize you or return your interest and affection? Just wondering…
    Thanks for being a faithful visitor to image-in-ing and for linking up at this week’s linky at http://image-in-ing.blogspot.com/2015/07/get-peek-at-those-cute-little-feet.html

    • Novroz says:

      Ah…since you only stop by during wordless wednesday, so you miss a lot of things😉

      Yes they can be very affectionate. Right now I can’t access my computer so quite hard to share things … I will show their affection on next week’s WW😉

  3. slatescoria says:

    What a cute cat🙂.
    But your turtles are cuter, I think the cat may have thought Papoe and Kurome were prey so it’s a good thing that you made a barricade!

  4. I’m glad it ended well, even when the kitty has to look for another prey now :o) I had no clue how fast turtles and tortoises can be before Hell-mut ran away in the back yard… boy, that wasn’t easy to get him. :o)

  5. OMG! I have a photo of my cat and my turtles too! Maybe I can post it some other time! Lovely captures =)

  6. I love little creatures, especially when so small.
    The kitty is cute too!!!

  7. Robin says:

    What a fun adventure! I think the cat was more curious than anything else. Who wouldn’t want to say hi to your beautiful turtles?🙂

  8. Binky says:

    I would imagine a hungry cat could try to attack a turtle, so it was a good thing you saw it and kept an eye on it.

    I really like the picture of Kurome with the cat in the background.

    • Novroz says:

      Yup that what I was afraid of…tho I think she was more curious than hungry.

      The one with Kurome? Not Kroten? Why?
      Someone told me that he likes the one with Kroten and the cat.

  9. I love that picture of Kroten with the kitty behind. Quite an adventure. Hope the kitty finds a home some day.

  10. Alexis says:

    Woa! Must have been a very cautious day

  11. xeristh says:

    Haha… This reminds me with my turtles. They met feral cats, and they all (including the cats) run away. Guess they scared with each other.

  12. Sara says:

    Hello! I love your website and refer to it often. I have two RES turtles that are 3.3 and 3.2 inches. Still pretty small and active. I’ve really enjoyed the progress I’ve been making with them. They no longer swim away scared when I enter the room, unless they are basking. I even trained them to swim through a hoop, of course by bribing them with food. I was wondering though how can I train them to do things out of the water. Such as to come when I call their name or to not try to dig and hid under stuff (which they don’t do as often as they use to though). Since they can’t eat outside of the water I can’t motivate them or train them to come when I call them. So what do you suggest to get them to one: understand what I want them to do and two: to actually do it? I’m a little jealous of yours, it seems as if it came so easy for you to train them🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Sara,

      Yes you can’t bribe them with food once they are outside. You need to make them understand their names. Set them out everyday with close supervision because you don’t want to loose them. The more they get out of the tank the faster they will learn.

      I have to admit that it’s easier for them to learn if they have other turtle to copy, my Kroten copied Kame while Kurome copief Kroten.

      When you set them free, call their name so they’ll know their name

  13. hello novroz its dennis the vizsla dog hay wow gud job protekting yore baybeez frum that cat!!! i hav livd with cats so i no cats and that cat wuz definitly up to sumthing!!! of korse they yoozhually ar!!! ha ha ok bye

  14. Alice Audrey says:

    She looks a bit thin, but cats are excellent predators. It’s good you protected your babies.

    • Novroz says:

      I know…that’s what worried me, it’s like she hasn’t been eating for a while. If I had something to eat at that time, I would have given it to her.

  15. […] couple of weeks a go, I had shared One Day In The Park – Part 1, now it’s time to share the PART 2 of that day. They always go to school parks at least once a […]

  16. I love my turtles. I have two. They are so cool. My little guy just loves, attention and being held.He gets upset sometimes when I put him down,and comes back climbing all over my feet to be picked up. Thank you so much for your web-page. I truly enjoy it. Robert.

Thank you for commenting :)

