This post can be considered as an extended post from Turtle Fact #5 : What to Eat and What Not to Eat. That post has a list of good food for turtles.

Turtles need to eat Cuttlebone as source of calcium and they also need to eat vegetables. My Kurome, a Reeves Turtle is the kind of turtle which is more carnivore than herbivore. Kroten and Papoe are omnivore but tend to be herbivore as they get older.

I have no problem introducing Papoe to vegetable…BUT she never touches her cuttlebone even though she is now in shedding process.

Since  Kurome is more carnivore, I didn’t force him to eat veggies…however, he also refuses to eat cuttle bone. He needs it because he is the only one who hasn’t shed yet.

I already shared one recipe before but I didn’t put it in the turtle fact section…since many often ask how to make their turtle eat vegetables and cuttlebone…so I am now sharing it in Turtle Fact Section. Hope this npost an give ideas to all Turtle’s mommy or daddy🙂

Step 1:

Cut the cuttlebone into small pieces. Put it in the blender along with pellets. The smell from the pellet will help the turtles think that it’s a pellet instead of cuttlebone or veggie. Once you have a powdered cuttlebone+pellet, put it in a container because you are not going to use them all at once.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Step 2:

Puree all the veggie or fruit you want them to eat…however, it is better to use not so many kind of veggie or fruit.

    DSC05312

Step 3:

Prepare the gelatin. I use seaweed powder as the gelatin to hold all the ingredient and turn it into a tasty jello.

DSC05316

Step 4:

Mix the veggie puree and cuttlebone powder. Cook it till it boils

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Step 5:

Because I want them to eat more cuttlebone, after it’s cooked I add extra cuttlebone powder

DSC05323

Step 6:

Let it cool down.

DSC05325

Step 7:

If you make too much, cut it into several parts and freeze it. We can use it again later. You can’t keep this jello more than a week in the fridge (unless if it’s frozen) because it tends grow some mold.

You can steam the one in the freezer once you need to feed your turtle again

DSC05326

I keep 2/3 in the freezer

DSC05332

I keep this in the fridge. A stock for 5 to 6 days

DSC05327

Ready to serve!!

Kroten loves it.

Papoe loves it

….and Kurome also loves it.

Now, all my three turtles eat healthy food😉

You can mix anything here. I once made a cuttlebone+apple peel jello> here. Strawberry+cuttlebone.

Just be creative!

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

39 responses »

  1. can I use this recipe for hell-mut too? he is a vegetarian like my momma :o)

    • Novroz says:

      Sure🙂
      But…if Hell-mutt already loves eating raw vegetables, that’s better than this recipe. Raw vegetables have more nutrition.

      • thanks :o) he sometimes dislikes the green things when we gave him fruits… he is a little picky then. so I thought maybe he likes it more than the grass and the leaves :o)

      • Novroz says:

        You’re more than welcome🙂 Hope he’ll like it.

        I saw in instagram…Tortoise also eats flowers. Does Hell-mutt like flower too?

      • of course he likes clover flowers and the yellow dandelion flowers… but he loves watermelon and strawberries… I read we shouldn’t give him too much fruits, so he mostly gets leaves and flowers :o)

      • Novroz says:

        Ah. I don’t know much about Tortoise. So they are just like fresh water turtles, they shouldn’t have too much fruits

    • Paige says:

      I have a pet turtle he is a red eared slider and I can’t seem to get him to eat any vegetables other than peas, I’ve tried many vegetables and he just shows no interest😦 I got him from a previous owner who only fed him the food pellets and he has some pyramiding from that. I tried to do the jello recipe from above but still he refuses. I need some help

      • Novroz says:

        Does he eat pellets?
        You can try with that first. Later you can also try smudging fish to vegetable leaves, the smell can trick them

  2. purofusoni says:

    wow.. cooking for turtle.. awesome.. actually my turtle has already eaten vegetables, green mustard (sawi hijau), water lettuce (selada air), curly lettuce (selada keriting), the leaf of radish (daun lobak). She likes it and she could eat a lot when I feed her, and she could shed too by being vegan. So, I don’t bother to give other things. I hope vegetables were enough and healthy for her.

  3. This was so incredibly interesting and your slide show, video, photos, everything was just amazing. You take so much time with your babies and I love it. You are just amazing!

  4. raisingdaisy says:

    This is brilliant! Wish I’d known about it when we had our turtles. You’re the best turtle mommy ever!🙂

  5. Robin says:

    That’s a very cool way to make healthy food fun for a turtle! It looks like all 3 of them really enjoyed it. It seems like an easy recipe too.🙂

  6. Binky says:

    I don’t think I’ll have any Jello if I come to visit you!
    I’m sure it is very good for your turtles, though.

  7. Rama's Mama says:

    Oooh, we are going to try this for our turtle!

  8. Applefan says:

    My turtle ate three bites then he didn’t eat anymore

    • Novroz says:

      Aww…too bad😦
      Maybe you need create your own vegetable mix.
      Or you can also try tricking them by putting the vegetable on a fish so it’ll smell like fish

  9. slatescoria says:

    We have to try it! Sounds good! After all, we need some calcium!

  10. Alice Audrey says:

    They clearly love it. I was afraid for your fingers.

  11. […] looking at multiple recipes, all of them had pictures of happy turtles eating it, she looked at this, this, and this.  She looked at the main ingredients and compared the […]

  12. autumn6268 says:

    That’s a really clever and creative idea! That’s absolutely amazing, your turtles were really loving it too! I wanna try this out soon but, is this recipe recommended for juvenile turtles?

  13. S Zhu says:

    This is so helpful! My turtle has yet to touch the cuttlebone I place in her tank so I’m hoping this will work! Can you please tell me how much of each ingredient you used for this recipe?

  14. shirl says:

    where do u get seaweed jello

  15. Where can I get cuttlebone?

    • Novroz says:

      I don’t know where you can buy it in your country…maybe petstore?

      In my country, we buy it in bird-store because bird also eat cuttlebone

  16. Eve says:

    I have three turtles and one of them, Scarlet, refuses to eat veggies, pellets and fruits. She’ll eat the occasional bloodworm, but that’s it. Do you have any ideas to get her to eat?

    • Novroz says:

      You can try forcing her to eat veggie by not giving her ANYthing but veggie. She won’t eat for almost a week but she will eat it eventually because of hunger

Thank you for commenting :)

