Mommy and I were looking for how big I can be…as I haven’t grown much lately. I am now about 8 to 9 cm in length.

According to reptilemagazine.com:

Even the larger ‘megalocephala’ form of Reeve’s turtle rarely exceeds 9 inches, and specimens of the typical form are not normally more than 6 inches in length.

According to Chelonia.com:

Adult Reeve’s turtles typically reach a maximum of 12 cm (5 inches) but area variants have been known to reach 30 cm (12 inches) in length

According to turtle source:

With a maximum size of only 4 – 5 inches, Reeves Turtles make excellent first turtles.

You see…mostly we won’t grow over 5 inches (around 12 cm)…I still have 4 to 5 cm to grow😉

However…while googling we came across something scary!!

I eat insects, worm and veggie (only when Mommy tricks me to eat that not delicious green thing). The picture we found is the other way around. An Insect was eating one of my kind. I was shocked and thought that this is something I need to share.

Copyrigtht: Dr. Shin-ya Ohba

Copyrigtht: Dr. Shin-ya Ohba

We found the article from Phys.org, and here’s the article:

In a recent journal published in Entomological Science, Dr. Shin-ya Ohba shares the unusual behavior and role reversal of a giant water bug becoming the predator and eating a juvenile turtle in a ditch in central Japan. While this Kirkaldyia deyrolli, or giant water bug, from the Lethocerinae family has been seen preying on small vertebrates such as frogs and fish, Ohba has captured images of the bug eating small turtles and snakes.

The K. Deyrolli is a native bug from Japan and is listed by the Japanese Environment Agency as an endangered species. They live primarily in the rice fields throughout Japan and feed on small frogs and fish. These bugs can grow up to 15cm long and inflict a venomous bite. They have been known to occasionally bite humans, causing a burning pain that lasts for several hours.

Ohba was conducting a night sampling in the central Japan region of western Hyogo when he recorded images of the giant water bug feeding on a small Reeve’s pond turtle. The insect used its front legs to hold on to the turtle while it inserted its rostrum into the prey in order to feed. While the bugs are known for only attacking moving prey, Ohba assumes that the bug caught and killed the turtle before he stumbled upon it.

Read more at: http://phys.org/news/2011-05-predator-prey-role-reversal-bug-turtle.html#jCp

Note: The bug is 58.09 mm in total length and the Reeve’s is  34.14 mm in carapace length.

Poor kid was eaten by animals we usually eat😦

I guess I am lucky to live in a home and being watched closely every time I am out in the open.

DSC00499

About Kurome

Hi...My name is Kurome (Black turtle). I am a Chinemys Reveesii or Chinese Three-keeled Pond Turtle or Revee's Turtle to be short. I don't know how old I am but my Mommy adopted me on September 22, 2012

11 responses »

  1. that’s super scary I so agree… and it’s not fair when our food tries to eat us… I hope that bug stays away from you and your turtle-furmily and I also hope that no one will “export” this evil bug accidentally to other countries….

  2. slatescoria says:

    Scary! It’s hard, but scary to imagine worms and beetles trying to eat Slate or Scoria! Poor Reeves turtle in the picture.

  3. raisingdaisy says:

    Oh my goodness, that’s extremely scary! We don’t like that at all. Daisy might have nightmares about a giant carrot trying to eat her…😉 I’m glad your mommy takes such good care of you and watches over you when you’re playing and exploring outside.

    • Kurome says:

      Aww… I am so sorry, I hope Daisy won’t have such nightmare. I hate to imagine a lettuce trying to eat me #Shiver

      She gets all worry if she can’t see me exploring the outside.

  4. Binky says:

    I hope that giant water bug doesn’t give your turtles nightmares! Up to 15 cm is huge!

  5. Alice Audrey says:

    That is one scary bug. My first inclination is to crush it.

Thank you for commenting :)

