On August, I have shared about an act that can be interpreted differently…depending on the turtle’s sex. The post is called Fluttering.

This month, I realize I haven’t shared  about how to differentiate male turtle to female turtle. It is very simple to differentiate us…but, you have to wait till we are about 4 inches in length. We often  look the same when we are smaller than that size.

We should warn you that if you are a turtle, you have to be above 3years to see this as there is an image that no little turtle is allowed to see 😉

To differentiate us, all you need to do is look at our nails and tail. See this image (we borrowed it from redearslider.com)

The easiest way to know is by seeing our nails. Female has short nails while male has long nails. As for tail, the image above didn’t quite show how different those tails are, it only shows the location of the cloaca…for that,you need to turn the turtle upside down. You can spot it easier by looking at the length, male has longer tail than female.

To prove that we are indeed females, here are photos of  our tails taken from a post called sexy butts, mommy posted these embarrassing photos on April. You can see that we have short tails.

Too bad we couldn’t find the butt tail of a male turtle. But we have something special from Happycamper. Early October, she posted Sheldon’s Penis. Sheldon is her turtle’s name. it was a real shock for all of us,including mommy. We never thought that turtle has such ‘flowery‘ penis. you can read her thread in here.

That black thing that looks like flower is RES’s penis.

Here is another photo of Sheldon showing off his thing when his mommy rubs his stomach

Hmmm…I bet mommy is feeling lucky that she has girls instead of boys 😉

Now, let’s move onto nails!

We have shared pictures of our nails before in Kame & Kroten’s differences, both our hand has short nails.

and here are Sheldon’s nails

We hope this turtle fact can help you find out whether certain turtle is female or male 😉

To close this post, look at how pretty we  are. We  are lucky to be girls 🙂

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

29 responses »

  1. tokyo5 says:

    My turtle’s species is very easy to differentiate between males and females…males are black and females are green (like my turtles is).

  2. What a great post.
    Maybe I will let my snapper see it when we have
    “The talk” in a couple of years 🙂

    You really did a lot of work here and it is nice of
    you girls to humble yourselves for education.
    I love those bows!

    • Kame says:

      Thank you Heros, and make sure your snapper is fully ready to see that lewd photo 😉

      There are so many things to know about turtle, we are glad you like it. ah the bow, don’t you think we look TOO girly with that?

  3. Ah, so funny and so educational at the same time! Thank you Kame and Kroten! I had no idea about these things (and wow, on the Turtle penis 😉 ). Thank you for giving us this information and the photos really help too. You guys are so much fun! Love the last photos, the bows just accentuate your eyes so well. You two are beautiful!

    • Kame says:

      Thank you aunt Katie 🙂 hahaha wow indeed!! that one really surprised us. I am old enough to mate but that was still wow.

      The last photos were edited behid our back, we were wonderin what she was doing with her computer…then we saw that she had turned us into girly turtles. Glad they look good 😉

  4. Debbie Adams says:

    Leaning more about the differences each time I come by.
    Aunt Deb xx

  5. Nekoneko says:

    OMG!!! Here I thought I might live my entire life without ever seeing a turtle’s penis…. 😉

    I would never have guessed it looked like that… Hehehehe… Yes, Kame & Kroten I think you are very lucky to be girls too!!

    • Kame says:

      Hahaha mommy thought so too 😉 you know she has 2 girls so no way she will see that.

      we are lucky we are girls and won’t give mommy such headache when we want to mate…unlike Sheldon 😉

  6. Kas says:

    Very interesting … you learn something new every day. 😉

  7. Binky says:

    So the boys have long nails and a flower?!

  8. Tony McGurk says:

    It would be easier to work out if girl turtles just wore dresses. So next time I meet a turtle I will remember to look at their nails.

    • Kame says:

      unfortunately we couldn’t swim well wearing dress 😉 even mommy, a female human, finds dress too troublesome, she is a t-shirt and jeans female human.

  9. Deboshree says:

    Very useful information. I will forward this to my turtle loving friends!

  10. Kyla says:

    The information on this blog is useful.

  11. Roro says:

    My male turtle’s claws r long and sometimes it hurts me while i care him.. if i toke him to the vet will they make it shorter or something? Because i like his claws tall ❤

    • Novroz says:

      No the vet will not make it shorter because their nails have nerve in it. I had tried once (before I know better) cutting Kame’s nail and it bled.

  12. kruti untekar says:

    How many nails should a singapuri turtle should have such that it is lucky to have!?

  13. clarencetheturtle says:

    I am a 1 year old res about to turn 2 in a few months.i am 5 inches. i do things like fluttering at things that are in my habitat. my nails are short but they are growing. my tail is not short, but it is not long. am i still too young to tell my gender?

  14. Lala lopez huang says:

    Do you still have your turtles?

  15. Catherine says:

    I have a question. Which of your turtles err… died? Was it Kame or Kroten….?

Thank you for commenting :)